Musing on Today’s Oscar Nominations and Past Winners

The Oscar nominations today. Always fun to check out and second guess. But let’s face it. The Academy has clearly gotten it wrong a fair number of times in its eighty-seven year history. Case in point. In my opinion, last year’s Best Picture win for Birdman over much of its competition, especially Whiplash, Selma, and The Theory of Everything.

But hold on; far worse choices have been made. Below is an article that discusses the issue. While it does not cover the last five winners, it makes for interesting reading. In my opinion, the biggest offenders: In 1941, How Green Was My Valley over Citizen Kane; 1951’s An American in Paris over either A Place in the Sun or A Streetcar Named Desire; 1952’s The Greatest Show On Earth over virtually everything else, but particularly, High Noon; and in 2005, Crash over Brokeback Mountain. What was the Academy thinking?? I have seen all of these films, most of them more than once. Except for The Greatest Show On Earth, I thought all of these winners were good to very good films. But Best Picture? No way!

This year’s I’ve seen practically none of the Best Picture nominees but plan to squeeze in as many as I can before Award night. And PLEASE, PLEASE Academy, NOT Mad Max: Fury Road. I watched it for thirty-five minutes and walked away in total disgust at it its gratuitous violence.

I’d love to know what you think. Thanks for reading!

Ranked: Every Oscar Best Picture Winner from Worst to Best

Leave a comment